By the time the VP debate came around, the Palin buzz was all about her flubbed interviews with Charlie Gibson and Katie Couric. The international punchline for any joke told was “I can see Russia from my house!” followed by “Newsapers? What newspapers?”

What disturbed me was not so much that this woman (claiming to have the knowledge and integrity to hold the second highest office in my homeland) was lacking in political expertise, it was the small statements she made which demonstrated how easily she could look straight into a camera and – lie. Full stop.

From Huffington Post
Politico 29 August 2008

In an interview just a month ago, she dissed the job, saying it didn’t seem “productive.”
In fact, she said she didn’t know what the vice president does.

Larry Kudlow of CNBC’s “Kudlow & Co.” asked her about the possibility of becoming McCain’s ticket mate.

Palin replied: “As for that VP talk all the time, I’ll tell you, I still can’t answer that question until somebody answers for me what is it exactly that the VP does every day? I’m used to being very productive and working real hard in an administration. We want to make sure that that VP slot would be a fruitful type of position, especially for Alaskans and for the things that we’re trying to accomplish up here for the rest of the U.S., before I can even start addressing that question.”

In subsequent interviews she told her audience “Oh that was just a joke! Of course I know what a Vice President does! The Vice President runs the Senate which is good because we can just get right in there and get things done and policies made… and then literally dismissed the subject by waving her hand and talking about something else.

To Katie Couric’s question about which newspapers she might be reading, Sarah Palin hesitated for a moment, then came back with the retort “Well I can’t think of any off the top of my head but I’ll find some and get back to ya!”

In several subsequent interviews she told her audience how unfair it had been of Ms. Couric to throw her that question (Oh I know she’s just out there doing her job but…) quoting the reporter as having said “What do you read up there in Alaska?” Palin explained her momentary confusion was because the question had …made it seem like people in Alaska don’t have the same newspapers the rest of the states do – and how typical it was for people to judge Alaskans in that way – different from the lower 48. It wasn’t enough to misquote Katie Couric, she was compelled to misdirect the entire original question completely.

So people like me started paying attention. Really close attention. And at the end of the day no one with whom I was conversing could understand why the press was treating her with such soft kid gloves. This was the woman about to inherit the nuclear launch codes meant to keep the country safe and she couldn’t even pronounce nuclear.

Some of us speculated that had Sarah’s name been Ralph, no one would have let her (or him) get away with one single inconsistency, much less the blatant lies that issued from this woman’s lips. Here’s a quite disturbing reality – there are so many ‘white lies’ told when Sarah Palin steps in front of a camera that I’ve been researching a list and don’t expect to have it ready until the Christmas Holidays. Maybe the inauguration.

But put the porkies aside. It is the ease with which she spouts them that has my hackles up. It is the ease with which she puts another person’s ethics, integrity and job on the line just to save face which disturbs me the most. I was married to someone who could never be wrong. I know from personal experience how dangerous that outlook on life can be to the people around you.

Look – we get it – anyone can get caught off-guard in an interview, and certainly anyone not accustomed to having their life slid under a microscopic lens for all the world to see, examine and pull apart. But to casually toss a fellow human under the proverbial bus without hesitation, just to cover your own soundbyte gaffes – that’s not the person I want with a hand on the red button.

We all thought she was someone who would say “Oh gosh, you know, I don’t know the answer to that – but I’m learning all the time and I promise to keep learning from and listening to the people who do have the answers so I can catch up and be the Vice President you people need me to be.”

I would have backed that Sarah Palin even if we didn’t agree on abortion rights because at that point in time, I still didn’t trust this fella called ‘Barack Obama’.

