One of my chat-thread contributions during the first week of October, just after the VP Debate: 

 

I’ve been listening to Sarah Palin’s interviews and speeches for almost 5 weeks now and I’ve just noticed my left eye has begun twitching. I’m certain there’s a correlation between the two.If she is elected I may need surgery. Or just go blissfully blind.

 

It’s inconceivable to me that the interviews with Charlie Gibson and Katie Couric were ‘prepared for’ as Sarah’s speech patterns tend to give her quite ‘unpreparedness’ away. When caught with a question she either is not prepared to answer or does not want to answer, she seems to rabbit on making little or no sense. I have two schools of thought on this. It’s possible Sarah thinks if she uses enough words the answer is bound to show up.It’s also possible Sarah thinks by using lots and lots of words, she can derail the question altogether. Regardless, her sentence structure.for a college graduate holding a four-year degree in journalism is deplorable. I think she may surpass GWB in the verbal gaffe, talent portion of this competition.

 

In the interview with Katie Couric:

 

COURIC: You’ve cited Alaska’s proximity to Russia as part of your foreign policy experience.What did you mean by that?

PALIN: That Alaska has a very narrow maritime border between a foreign country, Russia, and on our other side, the land– boundary that we have with– Canada. It– it’s funny that a comment like that was– kind of made to– cari– I don’t know, you know? Reporters–  

COURIC: Mock?  

PALIN: Yeah, mocked, I guess that’s the word, yeah.

COURIC: Explain to me why that enhances your foreign policy credentials.

PALIN: Well, it certainly does because our– our next door neighbors are foreign countries.They’re in the state that I am the executive of. And there in Russia–

COURIC: Have you ever been involved with any negotiations, for example, with the Russians?  

PALIN: We have trade missions back and forth. We– we do– it’s very important when you consider even national security issues with Russia as Putin rears his head and comes into the air space of the United States of America, where– where do they go? It’s Alaska. It’s just right over the border. It is– from Alaska that we send those out to make sure that an eye is being kept on this very powerful nation, Russia, because they are right there. They are right next to– to our state.

 *          *          *          *          *

Sarah-Speak reminds me of an episode on The Gilmore Girls where Lorelai was struggling to write a character reference for her ex-boyfriend:

 

RORY: … Maybe if you just put pen to paper… 

LORELAI: I tried that…ooh, was that a bad idea. 

RORY: Really why? 

LORELAI: Because my brain is a wild jungle full of scary gibberish…I’m writing a letter…I can’t write a letter…why can’t I write a letter?…I’m wearing a green dress…I wish I was wearing my blue dress…my blue dress is at the cleaners…the Germans wore grey…you wore blue… Casablanca, Casablanca…such a good movie…Casablanca…the White House…Bush…why don’t I drive a hybrid car? I should really drive a hybrid car…I should really take my bicycle
to work…bicycle, unicycle, unitard…hockey puck, rattle snake, monkey, monkey, underpants. 

RORY: Hockey puck, rattle snake, monkey, monkey, underpants? 

LORELAI: Exactly! That’s what I’m saying. It’s a big bag of weird in there

 *          *          *          *          *

 My thoughts exactly Governor. It’s a big bag of weird in there.

